Viking Biking Series 2020/21

Round 1
Time Trial 1 - TBA
Hill climb 1 - TBA

Round 2
Time Trial 2 - TBA
Hill climb 2 - TBA

All events start at 8am so mark them in your diaries.  I recognise that there may be other events that clash with these dates, but for better or for worse these look best.

The Time Trial will be held on the Tidbinbilla Road near the intersection with Point Hut Road.  It is a 5km out and back course (total 10k).

The Hill Climb starts at Casuarina Sands and finishes at the top of Mt Stromlo.  It is approximately 11k and is challenging but achievable – and you have a couple of weeks to get some training in.
For people new to riding with the club this year, this series allows you to have a bit of fun and pretend that you are actually a big time cyclist.  As well as that it provides a good marker to compare your performances at the start and finish of the season.  It’s also fun to actually see the other club members racing and try and work out who will win the overall prizes.  Over the last couple of years there have only been seconds between our top contenders.

There is no charge to enter the events.

The club provides some very cool handmade trophies to the first three men and women, and they are very keenly sought after. I mean, how many times in your life are you going to be a Viking Biking champion?

To win, you need to be a financial member of the club, have the lowest aggregate time over all four events, and you must complete all four events.  Can’t do all four events, come along to the ones you can do.
That’s about it for now. More info about logistics etc will come out closer to the events.

See ya out there!


Viking Biking Series - Overall Champions

2011/12Not ConductedNot Conducted
2012/13Simon TennentNo one completed all 4 events
2013/14Scott LeightonRebecca McRae
2014/15No one completed all 4 eventsMaggie Welfare
2015/2016Gavin McIntyreMaggie Welfare
Club Champions from 2011/12
Overall club champions have the lowest combined time across four events – the TT and Hill Climb are held twice per season (only the fastest times for that season are displayed)

Viking Biking Series Fastest Results Tidbinbilla Time Trial

Tidbinbilla Road Time Trial    
2011/12Simon Tennent16:10Katy Whiting18:49
2012/13Simon Tennent15:52Karen Daniels21:33
2013/14Scott Leighton16:01Beth Bowen18:19
2014/15Scott Leighton16:35Shona Hutchinson17:19
2015/16Wayne Corlis15:23Maggie Welfare17:55
Fastest in the land

Viking Biking Series Fastest Results Casuarina - Mt Stromlo Hill Climb

Casuarina - Mt Stromlo Hill Climb     
2011/12Not ConductedNot Conducted
2012/13Simon Tennent27:09Susan Quan Wing36:40
2013/14Scott Leighton26:21Jackie Haggar33:52
2014/15Wayne Corlis26:41Maggie Welfare32:48
2015/16Ross Beatty28:03Maggie Welfare31.13